Log in

2017 AmCham-DHL Express Success and Innovation Awards

Zespri International wins Supreme Award at 2017 American Chamber of Commerce DHL Express Success & Innovation Awards

Auckland, 3rd August 2017 — The 18th annual AmCham DHL Express Success & Innovation Awards were held at the Pullman Auckland Hotel last night, with Zespri International winning the Supreme Award for trade with the United States.

Amcham was delighted to welcome back the Hon Steven Joyce as keynote speaker and presenter of the three key exporter awards with the new U.S. Ambassador Scott Brown presenting the Importer of the Year award.

While trade of goods with the USA was down marginally in the last year by dollar value, the USA on still represents 11% of New Zealand total merchandise trade, with total bilateral trade worth around $16 billion. The companies on show at these awards highlighted some of New Zealand’s most innovative products and services that are taking on the world.

Mark Foy, Country Manager for DHL Express New Zealand, who announced the supreme winner, said: “Zespri has established itself as a leading innovator in the horticultural industry, with their focus on sustainability and continuous improvement a testament to their achievements. Zespri’s successful growth into the US market is a reflection of their market research on this key export trade lane and DHL congratulates them on their success.”

The Supreme Award is chosen from the winners of each of the categories presented on the night. The complete list of winners is as follows:

Ernst & Young Ltd were presented with the Trevor Eagle memorial award as AmCham Supporter of the Year.

This year’s award finalists were some of the strongest AmCham has seen in the last eighteen years and the judges decided to award a number of Highly Commended certificates. These were presented to:

The AmCham DHL Express Success & Innovation Awards celebrate success and innovation in the export, import and investment sectors between New Zealand and its third-largest trading partner, the USA.  Winners of the importer, exporter, tourism and bilateral services award categories receive an Economy Plus® Round Trip Ticket to the USA from United Airlines. 

At the dinner Baldwins were presented with a plaque in recognition of 25 years membership.

In addition to AmCham, DHL-Express and United Airlines, the Awards are also supported by 3M New Zealand, Baldwins, Fonterra, The Pullman Auckland Hotel, media partner The Business, and event manager Lime & Soda.

The American Chamber of Commerce is delighted to announce the launch of the 2017 AmCham – DHL Express Success & Innovation Awards, held in conjunction with United Airlines. The Awards celebrate business achievement between New Zealand and the United States.

The annual Success & Innovation Awards provide an opportunity to showcase those companies that have demonstrated imagination, innovation and entrepreneurship, as well as honour and celebrate their achievements. 

This year we have introduced a Contribution to Tourism Award and a Bilateral Services Award



          Importer of the Year from the USA
Exporter of the Year to the USA – under NZ$1m
-          Exporter of the Year to the USA – NZ$1m to NZ$10m
-          Exporter of the Year to the USA – over NZ$10m
-          Investor of the Year to or from the USA
-          Contribution to Tourism

-          Bilateral Services Award with the USA

A Supreme Award winner is selected from winners of each of these Awards.  AmCham also makes an award to the Member/Supporter of the Year.

The winners of the importer, exporter and bilateral services awards receive a return Economy Plus airfare to anywhere in the USA from United Airlines.

Previous winners of the Supreme Award have included ZESPRI International, Peace Software, Airways Corporation, HumanWare, Tenon, Zeacom, Specialist Marine Interiors, Fonterra and Christchurch Engine Centre, Buckley Systems, Vista Entertainment, Greenshell New Zealand, Orion Systems International, Fisher & Paykel Healthcare and Douglas Pharmaceuticals


Entries close at 5.00 pm on 31st May
Finalists will be announced on 3rd July
Award winners will be announced at a gala dinner at the Pullman Hotel Auckland on 3rd August.

 Any questions please email:

   © American Chamber of Commerce in New Zealand Inc  •  Site by